An American view of Freedom

It came as a shock to some when the Cato Institute ranked the US as no. 17 in the world in “freedom”. The interesting thing is though, that they use several categories to rate “freedom” and not all of these resonate with many Americans.

That includes me. I’ll explain: when I hear “freedom” I think “freedom to.”

For example: in my city, you can’t burn leaves or trash. I, along with many Americans, view that as a RESTRICTION on freedoms. True: I consider it a wise and necessary one: such smoke stinks and can make others sick. So, in my view, that is a case where surrenders a bit of freedom for the public good, just as one does when one obeys a speed limit.

On the other hand, others would view the ban on trash/leaf burning as an ENHANCEMENT of freedom: freedom from pollution and freedom to be healthy.

I had the same view with COVID restrictions, mask mandates and vaccination mandates. I saw all of those as necessary and wise restriction on freedoms for the greater good (not make others sick). On the other hand, others would view these as enhancing “freedom from being made sick.”

Not what it seems

Today was kind of routine. But what is interesting is that I filmed pull ups from different angles, and what a difference it made!

Note: all of these sets of 5 (done while fatigued) were pretty much the same quality (and yes, too much kipping)

Front, and low: “looks like zero pull ups!”

Similar set, very different angle:

Now, I had my wife hold the phone high and from the front:

Yes, the chin was over the bar; I even tapped it on the final rep.

It goes to show you: angle makes a lot of difference in what you “see”. What is clear is that I am away from the bar; that is probably due to my not wanting the bar to rock.

The weight part of the workout: (mixed PT)

5-5, 5-5 (both 5 chins, 5 pull ups), 10 pull ups, then 3 sets of 5 (seen above), 2 attempting to be strict, then 47-48 second hold.

Downstairs: only lower inclines and deadlifts.

Lower incline (lots of messing with the rack settings) 2 x 134, 2 x 134, 10 x 114, 10 x 114, 3 x 134

deadlift: deficit: 10 x 107, 10 x 133, 10 x 195 (all felt good),

6 inch: 10 x 280 (no problem)

Later: 5K commuter walk