Post I: workout and baseball

First the baseball game: nothing much to be said; it started out very well (3-0 Bradley) but it went downhill from there.

UIC has a good team: 30-13 overall, 13-7 in a tough Missouri Valley Conference.
BU is 12-32-1 (yes, one tie) and 1-9 at home. The team is trying but, well, circumstances are tough.

My workout: PT, deadlifts, 4.3 mile walk (W. Peoria via Moss plus a 1.2 Campus loop) in 1:02:05. First mile was predictably slow. Weather: glorious. Perfect.

The deadlifts: I was sort of a head case this morning:
low: 10 x 134, 10 x 184, 7 x 225, 7 x 225 (wanted to not bounce my reps)
Wagon wheel (4.25 inch) 5 x 255, 10 x 255
6 inch: 10 x 280

Legs were quivering and that was the goal.

Deadlifts: today went well.

The monster walks: this is part of my daily PT that is boring, time consuming and unrewarding, at least in the short term. There are no PB, PRs to set. But I do them anyway because I sure don’t miss being in pain 1/4 of a mile into walking.

Author: oldgote

I enjoy politics, reading, science, running, walking, (racewalking and ultrawalking) hiking, swimming, yoga, weight lifting, cycling and reading. I also follow football (college and pro), basketball (men and women) and baseball (minor league and college)

Leave a comment